Browse Published Resources

Published Resources Details Conference Paper

Starr, Fiona; Augustesen, Coralie; Bogle, Michael; Cant, Emma; Quinlisk, Meg; Teffer, Nicola.
The Royal Mint, Sydney 1853-1926
Eleventh National Conference on Engineering Heritage: Federation Engineering a Nation; Proceedings
Institution of Engineers, Australia, Barton, Australian Capital Territory, 2001, pp. 27-33

The Royal Mint, Sydney Branch was the first Royal Mint established in Britain's Australian colonies. Rigorous technical specifications outlined in May 1853 by the Royal Mint, London insured that the Sydney Mint would enjoy the most contemporary machinery and structures available. As a result of this decision, the Mint provides an opportunity to study the most advanced minting processes of the 1850s. This Mint began to lose its technological advantages in the late 1860s when resources and staff were diverted to create the Melbourne Mint (est. 1872). The Perth Mint (est. 1899) also drained resources. The Royal Mint, Sydney Branch closed in 1927. Extensive picture research also allows much of the machinery to be viewed. The prefabricated buildings also provide primary examples of 19th century 'Iron Age' architecture designed and manufactured in Britain for erection in the colony. The Royal Mint, Sydney Branch is an archetype for the transfer of contemporary technology from the Mother Country to the colonies.

Related Published resources